Uncluttering my Home

Leave a comment

September 10, 2010 by Ellen V

My natural tendencies lean me to keep, save, and (gasp) hoard all the little treasures of life.  Luckily, I have a mother who has been wise enough to help me fight those inclinations.  Purge, purge, purge is the motto in the K Family!  And while beginning a real uncluttering session can be difficult, I know by now that I feel oh-so-good by the end of it.

Having less stuff means having (1) less stuff to clean, (2) less stuff to worry about, (3) less stuff to break or wear out, (4) less stuff to fix, and (5) less stuff to get in the way of living life.  One of the best books I have ever read to help me work through this process can be found here.

Eric and I have found this lifestyle extremely helpful, especially as we molded our lives into one home earlier this year.  We find joy in getting down to the bare essentials.  We had a hugely successful yard sale this summer, and we have taken several carloads to GoodWill since then.  Even though we haven’t found a budgeting style that really suits us yet, we have found that trying to live with less “stuff” means we’re both more aware when we purchase new things.  Asking permission is rarely about money for us, even if we don’t have a lot of it.  It’s more about making sure we’re both okay with the items that fill the space in which we live.

Here are a few of my favorite de-cluttering objects.  They store the things I value, and they only allow me to keep what matters most.

Our first joint purchase for our home, we both fell in love with this wine bar immediately. We use it to store assorted wine and whiskey gear. We also use it to showcase a favorite conversation starter of ours--a picture, several decades old, of Bill and Hillary Clinton.

This lipstick red Pottery Barn jewelry box was the perfect Christmas gift from Eric.

I received this hope chest, handmade by my father, when I was about 12 years old. I had no idea what a precious gift it would be, and I love having a home in which to store it!

A great (and affordable!) Target basket for storing our throws--perfect for Wisconsin winters!

Believe it or not, the less “stuff” clutters our home, the less “stuff” clutters our lives.  I like that.

Leave a Reply

Categories

