Craft Fair!

Leave a comment

October 16, 2010 by Ellen V

My girls’ day at the Craft Fair was an unbelievable success!  I had fun with my friends, I bought a few things, and I might even go to another event like this in the future!

Craft Fair treasures!

To be more specific, the event we attended was the Fall Harvest Art & Craft Fair sponsored by the New Berlin Junior Woman’s Club.  The entry fee was $2.00, but that money was donated back to the elementary school in which the Fair was hosted. There were over 120 tables (not your grandma’s craft fair!) with craft items of all prices, styles, sizes, and qualities.  Every vendor offered a new adventure, and just seeing what was out there was well worth the $2.00 admission fee!

I purchased a few hidden treasures for our home, including a super cool, reusable coffee cozy ($7); some delicious dark chocolate almond toffee ($3–my splurge of the day); three very reasonably priced bars of natural soap (3/$10); and a sample pack of solid shampoo and conditioner, something I know Eric will love ($2).  With the $2 admission price and a $0.50 cup of coffee, my day’s total was $24.50.  Awesome.

After a fun morning at the Fair with some great girlfriends, we ate lunch together (homemade Chicken Tortilla Soup and Apple Pie from Stephanie’s kitchen–she’s a much better housewife than I will ever be) and carved some sweet pumpkins.  The girls let me keep the pumpkin seeds, and I took them home to make some snacks!

 

pumpkin seeds...yummmm...

 

While still with the girls, I separated the seeds from the “guts” of the pumpkins, rinsed them, and let them dry.  When I get home, I separated them into two batches.  Both batches I tossed with some vegetable oil.  In the first bowl, I tossed the seeds with sugar, cinnamon, and cardamom.  In the second, I tossed the seeds with a paprika and salt blend.  Both batches baked in the oven for about 15-20 minutes at 350 degrees.  I’m looking forward to enjoying this fall treat!

Leave a Reply

Categories

