Pathetic Little Porch

3

November 12, 2010 by Ellen V

I love my dear little house to pieces, but one thing I really dislike is our front entrance.

A sad little porch...

For one, it is dark.  In Wisconsin, the sun has set by 4:30 p.m. at this time of year, and our porch light always seems to be burned out or simply dim.  Not very welcoming!

Reason two, it is barren.  The previous owner (or someone before him) had the dated railing removed.  Fine by me!  But now it seems empty and cold.  I hope to spruce it up this winter with some evergreen trim for the columns, a wreath for the door, and a warmer, larger, and more welcoming welcome mat.  Those things can get pricey, though, so we’ll see what we can spring for.  Add it to the wish list, I suppose!

And finally, it is completely useless.  Not large enough for one chair, let alone two, the cement landing in next to our front door is a complete waste of space.  Unfortunate, isn’t it?

If I’m being truly honest, the porch is fine, and it is just not a priority right now to spruce it up.  It does its job just fine as is.  But still… I’d love for the front of our home to be as welcoming as the people inside!

Yet another work in progress.

3 thoughts on “Pathetic Little Porch

  1. I had no idea that you felt so strongly about our little porch 😦

  2. […] Sand and repaint a super-cool bench I stole was given from my parent’s attic for our sad little porch. […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

