Turkey Day Traditions

3

November 23, 2010 by Ellen V

We leave tomorrow for my hometown in rural, southern Minnesota to spend this Great American Holiday with my family.  The K Family doesn’t boast too many steadfast traditions, but there is one that simply must be mentioned:  The Turkey Song.  (Don’t worry, lyrics are below.  I’ll get to it.)

I am a big believer in a few simple traditions that make a family a family.  Eric and I are beginning a few of our own.  The Turkey Song will certainly be a tradition our own family will retain.  That is, at least, if I have anything to say about it!

The Turkey Song (origins unknown)

I heard Mr. Turkey say, “Gobble, gobble, gobble

Tomorrow will be Thanksgiving Day, gobble, gobble, gobble,

People say that it’s great fun, but I think that I will run and hide until the day is done, gobble, gobble, gobble.”

Mr. Turkey tucked his head, gobble, gobble, gobble

‘Neath his feathers deep and red, gobble, gobble, gobble

But they pinned him by the wall, cooked and ate him, wings and all, now never will Mr. Turkey call, “Gobble, gobble, gobble!”

3 thoughts on “Turkey Day Traditions

  1. LK says:

    What about the second verse?

  2. KF says:

    I always wondered about the words… Now I Have Them TOO!! 2nd Verse??? Do Tell~

Leave a Reply

Categories

