Throwing in the Towel

4

December 10, 2010 by Ellen V

For the second time recently, I have thrown in the metaphorical decorating towel before I’ve even begun.

I had great hopes and dreams of Christmas decorating when I actually had a home and a family to do it for.  But it seems that, in the end, it just hasn’t been worth it.  After all, Eric and I will be doing quite a bit of traveling and very little hosting this December.  It seems as though we have better things to do!  I’ve gawked at the prices of those cute, retro-looking, energy-efficient LED lights for my shrubs and porch.  Eh.  I’d rather not.

LED Christmas Lights, from homeimprovementsdepot.com

So once again, I’ve backed out on a plan to do some major decorating (this time outdoor Christmas lights, last time basements).  I did finally get that hurricane out this weekend and filled it with all those ornaments we would have hung on a tree, if we had one.  A truly homespun Christmas, I guess.  At least “homespun” makes it feel cute and cozy instead of (yet another) failure!

To make matters worse, we missed the last leaf pick up of the year, and our giant pile of leaves on the street from a few weeks ago got plowed onto our neighbor’s driveway.  Ugh.  They were so gracious about it, but it meant shoveling/snow-blowing as well as bagging tons of leaves mixed with snow.

Our outdoor stuff isn’t going so well lately…  But the weekend is finally here, and I’m opening the indoor stuff, at least, goes better!

4 thoughts on “Throwing in the Towel

  1. katie says:

    our tree went up, but i think that our outdoor stuff will be found in attic sometime around easter.

  2. LK says:

    Bah Humbug!

  3. Kris Lea says:

    If you don’t have a tree, decorate some cheap wreaths. I have enough ornaments for 4 or 5 trees, but we didn’t even put one up this year. Just put my favorites on a wreath. Happy Christmas

Leave a Reply

Categories

