Summer Road Trippin’ Part 3 and a Favorite Summer Meal

Leave a comment

July 17, 2011 by Ellen V

Bliss, Lake Style

I have recently arrived home from an absolutely wonderful but exhausting weekend at my in-laws’ lake house with 17 of my closest friends. This is the 4th annual event of this type, and it was surely one of the best! There is nothing like giving a bunch of 20- and 30-somethings an excuse to eat, drink, and hang out on the water for 48 hours.

Eric and I arrived home pretty beat from the sun, lack of sleep, and 90+ degree heat today, but, at my request, we swung by Sendik’s on the way home for mozzarella and baguette for one of my favorite summer meals: caprese salad. With fresh basil from our backyard and a few beautiful tomatoes from our CSA, we enjoyed a delicious meal that wouldn’t weigh us down as we wait for the air conditioner to kick in.

Caprese Salad

My favorite things about July include: scorching lake days, time for friends and family, and fresh tomatoes grown with love. A successful weekend? I think yes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

