Pot Roast Memories

3

August 21, 2011 by Ellen V

While we were in Door County, my parents and I were reminiscing about some of our favorite meals while my siblings and I were growing up. Like many families in the 80s and 90s, we had classic standby meals that regularly showed up on the table. The worst? Salmon Loaf. Terrible. The best? We always loved a classic Minnesota tater-tot hot dish, grilled chicken or burgers, and (of course) pot roast with onions, potatoes, and carrots.

Since our memory session, I’ve been craving pot roast like nobody’s business! This morning, I picked up a roast and a few potatoes on my way back from the gym, cut up the carrots and onions from this week’s CSA box, and set the slow cooker on low for the day. I can’t wait for the classic childhood meal tonight!

3 thoughts on “Pot Roast Memories

  1. Gwen says:

    I made pot roast on Wednesday. Delish. Just the nice thing to start incorporating more protein into my diet and use up some potatoes! Hope it turns out great!

  2. LK says:

    The pot roast description makes my mouth water. I kind of wish I hadn’t planned on BLTs tonight. How can you say that about salmon loaf? It’s a Lent classic!

  3. LK says:

    Although you mentioned chicken, I don’t see any mention of salad and really good bread anywhere. Huh.

Leave a Reply

Categories

