Homemade Projects: January

3

January 25, 2012 by Ellen V

Eric gave me the biggest present this morning! He gave me two hours of Jane-free time. I got out and ran a few miles, took a quick shower, and then sat at my favorite coffee shop for a full hour before I came back home. I sat and read the last two issues of The New Yorker, drank a delicious cup of decaf coffee, and ate the most glorious chocolate croissant of all time. The server even warmed it up for me. I almost felt like a real human being! And now? Jane is still sleeping, giving me a few more minutes of guilt-free time to myself. Awesome.

We’re working out a system around the V household, which has allowed both Eric and I to accomplish a few goals early in the week. Eric baked a delicious quick bread that I really hope he continues to make often. I got around to my January Homemade Project: homemade baby wipes! I’ve heard these are easy to make and work great, so I thought I’d try while there’s still time to get into the habit early. I used the following recipe:

  • 1/2 roll paper towels
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 tablespoons baby wash
  • 1 tablespoon baby oil

I halved the recipe for the first time around, but there won’t be a need for that in the future–they work great! This will easily be a money saver, and if I can bring myself to start using wash cloths instead of paper towels, it will be an environment saver, too. I’m not quite there yet.

I’m looking forward to more homemade projects this year!

3 thoughts on “Homemade Projects: January

  1. […] one I might consider in the future. Because we’re already washing diapers and because I often make my own wipes, having a couple dozen squares of flannel on hand, soaked in my wipe solution, and washed along […]

  2. […] made up what might be one of the last batches of homemade wipes. I send store bought ones to daycare, and I see potty training in our very near future. […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

