Sleep Deprivation, Holy Week, and Other Exciting Things

Leave a comment

March 31, 2012 by Ellen V

I’ve been reading through the last few blog posts… yikes. With the number of errors, it’s obvious I’m not hiding my sleep deprivation well!

Jane is a good sleeper (like 17+ hours a day good) and I realize I have little to complain about. For about a month she slept through the night off and on, and I thought, “Hooray! No sleep training! Just a perfect baby! God loves me!” But, of course, God laughs at me when I think things like that, and now she’s waking nightly (again, once a night is what some people hope for at three months, I know, I know). Going from full nights to expected 2:00 a.m. wake up calls is not fun, people. We survived our first night without Dad around, though, so that’s something. I guess.

And then there’s work, which is CRAZY for me as a church-worker during this Lent-to-Easter time of year. My goal is to be able to listen to the homily at least one time this week. Doubtful, but a girl can hope.

So I’m battling sleep deprivation and work stress with Pinterest, long and whiney conversations with Mama K, snuggle time with Jane if I can catch her at the right moment (since when do babies like to sleep in their cribs and not their mama’s arms? I have a crazy baby), Girl Scout cookies, and the occasional beer. I’m dreaming of the calmness that summer brings: long Saturday morning runs, grilled veggies fresh from our CSA, and time with friends and family. In the spirit of the summer ahead, I present to you a wish list:

a pretty little sunhat for Jane

perfect for summer gatherings

pretty folding chairs for our patio

the perfect post-baby lake attire

a trip to the Milwaukee county Zoo is in our future

homemade pudding pops? yes, please!

the perfect summer bag is the icing on the cake

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

