house daydreaming

Leave a comment

January 31, 2013 by Ellen V

I have now been living in our house for over three years. Eric has been living there for longer–almost 6 years, if you can believe it. After we were married, we did a lot of surface changes. We got new furniture, rearranged, redecorated, etc. Since then, though, the only real change happened last year in preparation for Jane’s entrance into the world. We made the guest room into a nursery and reorganized the basement into a space that would accommodate a guest or two when needed.

This all means that in the last three years, there have been no major renovations to our home and very little rearranging or redecorating. To be fair, Eric bought the house in great shape. The paint is neutral but interesting, and, since the house is pretty small, we’re using every square inch in a very purposeful way. I might dream of an exercise space or a guest room, but they just aren’t going to happen given the space we have and need. Still, I really want to spruce things up a bit. I have a few little projects on my mind lately.

  1. Our kitchen is small, but big enough so cooking and storage are both easily accommodated. That’s more than a lot of people can say, especially considering the number of gadgets we have! That said, a rearrangement of our pantry and trash/recycling situation could free up a bit of space. I want to add one or two shelves to our narrow but useful pantry and move the large container for Dallas’ food inside it (it currently holds our recycling bin). Then, I’d like purchase a two-container bin to hold both trash and recycling. Something like this would be awesome, but it way out of our price point. I’ll have to get creative, I think. I’m looking to maximize space and free up our counters.
  2. I am of the mind that we’ll move Jane to a toddler bed sooner than later. I know it’s crazy, and I know I’ll probably eat my words later, but a girl can dream, right? It’s still at least several months away, but I’m excited to transition Jane’s nursery to a more grown up space suitable for a toddler. I’m looking forward to storing away the rocking chair and replacing it with some storage for toys. My hope is to find a sturdy bookshelf that can hold some bins, and then complement it with (hopefully homemade or thrifted) toddler-approved seating. We don’t plan in being in our house for too many more years, and the color scheme is awesome, so we don’t want to change the olive color on the walls. For the nursery, we worked with it and decorated in muted primary colors, and for her toddler room I’d like to accent with purple and khaki tones.
  3. In the spirit of keeping up with our growing toddler’s needs, we’ll need to shift the sitting area of the basement into a play area. Though I’m listing this last, it will take priority over the changes in the nursery. We need some serious toy storage, more space to play, better lighting, etc. I’m also hoping to convince Papa K to build us (or repurpose an old piece of furniture into) a play kitchen for the basement. Since we’ll need to keep an area free for guests, our challenge will be to make it a bright, open area that is both toddler and grandparent friendly.
  4. Finally, the unfinished part of our basement is in need of an overhaul. While I’m happy to leave it unfinished (every inch is being utilized on a daily basis for laundry, storage, and beer making), we need to rearrange to get the most out of the space. I assume this will mean scouring Craigslist and the like for some large storage and maybe another card table.

This might all be too much to tackle in 2013, I’ll be the first to admit. Luckily, most of this could be fairly inexpensive if we’re smart about it. I’m hoping to rope Mama and Papa K, with their extensive remodel and carpentry experience, to help with some of it, but Eric can do most of what I can’t without too much Googling/YouTubing. As long as I can fine tune my thrifting skills, I think we’ll be in pretty good shape!

Leave a Reply

Categories

