areas of excess: clothing

Leave a comment

February 15, 2013 by Ellen V

Sister A, Sister K, and I have begun our Lenten project, based on the book 7. We were going to do it in the order the author did and start with food, but Sister A requested a switch based on her schedule for the next few weeks, and Sister K and I agreed. So this week, instead, we’re working on clothing. Each of us has a goal for the week of repurposing 7 items of clothing we no longer use into something useable. I’ve already transformed three t-shirts–two into workout tanks and one into a dress for Jane. They were easy because none of them required any sewing. I also have 5 more projects pinned and ready to be sewn. Yes, that means I’ll have done 8 projects instead of 7. I’m an overachiever like that! No, actually, I was just having so much fun, and some of the projects were so easy, I had a hard time stopping! I am ready to complete two produce bags, a headband, a dress for Jane (this one from a button down of Eric’s), and made a pair of jeans into skinnies.

Check out the pics! Sorry for the terrible quality, but you get the idea.

IMG_1585  IMG_1586

The project has been really fun so far. I purge my clothing on a regular basis and I don’t think I have a totally excessive amount, but I so often just throw things into a Goodwill box when I could use the fabric for something else, make a few minor adjustments to make it wearable again, or give it to someone I know who can use it. Plus, it’s making me bust out my sewing machine again. Goodness knows I needed a kick in the butt to do that!

Leave a Reply

Categories

