areas of excess: clothing–an update

2

February 17, 2013 by Ellen V

I have a crazy busy three days in front of me, so the clothing projects I have been working on really needed to be done yesterday if they were going to get done at all. I had several successes: a turban headband, two workout tanks, a dress for Jane (the same style), and two produce bags. The flared jeans to skinnies will be fine, I think. I was pretty conservative with the first go around, so they are still way too loose. Once I take a second crack at it, I think they’ll be wearable.

Two projects were major disasters. I took two tops (a blouse of mine and a button down of Eric’s) and tried to make dresses for Jane. Both were epic failures. Unsalvageable. Ugh. I really wish I would have used Eric’s shirt to make him the shoe bags that he has been requesting. It would have been a much easier project, and now I still need to do them for him!

After all that, I began to work on a braided t-shirt rug. This won’t be finished by the end of the week, but perhaps by the end of Lent? Or by the end of the spring? I don’t know. The braids look awesome so far, so hopefully I’ll have the motivation to continue!

2 thoughts on “areas of excess: clothing–an update

  1. Jen says:

    Thank you thank you! I’ve been wanting to buy a braided rug for poppys room but couldn’t stand the price tag. Never knew I could make it myself so easily!

    Sorry about the clothing failures, but great props for trying your hand at so much!

    • Ellen V says:

      I promise it is easy so far, though I have yet to sew it together, so we’ll see! I’m not even sewing the strips together-just leaving knots. From what I can tell, I think it will be fine that way!

Leave a Reply

Categories

