areas of excess: stress + the end of Lent

Leave a comment

March 29, 2013 by Ellen V

I’m in the final few days of my busiest season of the year, the final few days of coffee-free Lent, and the final few days of the Lenten project my sisters I embarked on over six weeks ago based on the book 7 by Jen Hatmaker.

It seems a bit strange that I’ve chosen, of my own free will, to give up coffee during this hectic season. I must admit, I missed it much, much more than I thought I would. When Eric suggested fasting from coffee for Lent, I readily agreed. He definitely drinks too much coffee, and I wanted nothing more than to support him in cutting back. I, on the other hand, just gave up coffee for a solid 9 months and then some when I was pregnant with Jane. No big deal, right? Wrong. After the first few days, Eric didn’t seem to mind our fast at all. I have missed coffee with all my soul, though. Sunday and regular coffee drinking can’t come soon enough!

Another odd coincidence is that the focus of the final days of the Sisters K project happens to be stress. Fast from stress? During Holy Week? I don’t think so! Instead of putting pressure on myself to build things into my schedule like “time” when I really don’t have any to spare, I have made my prayer this week to be able to pray. The services of the Paschal Triduum are gorgeous and brutal and honest and good, and my parish does them well. I can’t keep myself from worrying about the role I will play in those services, but my hope is that I can find moments of prayer within them.

And on Easter Sunday? I will rest.

Leave a Reply

Categories

