pretty, tasty fruits and veggies

Leave a comment

June 25, 2013 by Ellen V

I’m listening to Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle on my way to and from work right now, and it is totally rocking my world. The book is all about a family’s quest to live off locally grown and raised food. It makes my mouth water! Thank goodness our CSA boxes filled with fabulous veggies are coming regularly now, or I might have to shed a few tears into yet another meal of root vegetables.

Eric and Jane are probably picking up our box of lettuces and zucchini and herbs right now. It’ll be a while before the colorful tomatoes and peppers of harvest season, but I’m content with tasty salads and homemade pesto for now! Eric and I seem to have new found resolve to put our boxes to good use, and I’m excited to see what new things we might come up with this summer and fall! And maybe Jane will start eating her veggies? Just maybe? Otherwise there could be lots of spinach smoothies in her immediate future. Luckily, she loves all things outdoors. Perhaps by next summer just the thought that she grew something might be appealing enough for her to tackle actually eating it.

my future farmer

my future farmer

Leave a Reply

Categories

