sweetness

2

July 7, 2013 by Ellen V

I had kind of half-typed something last week, expecting our lake weekend to go a certain way. It didn’t really go that way, though. Instead, it went the way of spending lots of time with Mama and Papa V, picking sweet, juicy strawberries at a local farm, time in the water, Jane’s first boat ride, an evening and overnight with Sisters A and K, and beautiful sunsets on the porch or the deck or the pier. Not too much to complain about there!

goofy sisters at a gorgeous county park near Sister A's new hometown in western Wisconsin

goofy sisters at a gorgeous county park near Sister A’s new hometown in western Wisconsin

The only downside to this wonderful weekend was that we have yet to plow through a huge chunk of this week’s produce box, and we’ll have another one by Tuesday afternoon! Yikes! I did my best to make a dent in it this evening, relying heavily on my Williams-Sonoma Cooking from the Farmers’ Market Cookbook. Red potatoes, fennel, and broccoli got whipped up and scarfed down. Zucchini got shredded, bagged, and frozen for another meal, another time. I haven’t explored the greens yet, and we still have a good looking cucumber. I can only hope some big salads knock that out tomorrow night. We’ve been working so hard at making good use of our veggies this year!

we were all having too much fun this weekend to get much on film, but this pretty much captures some of Jane's favorite lake activities: pint sized chairs, collecting pine cones, stealing Papa V's porch supplies and making them into necklaces

we were all having too much fun this weekend to get much on film, but this pretty much captures some of Jane’s favorite lake activities: pint sized chairs, collecting pine cones, stealing Papa V’s porch supplies and making them into necklaces

Now, I’m off to fold laundry, spend a little quiet time with Eric, and mentally prepare for a work week (though it might be a nice little vacation from our vacation). We’ll plan some meals to bring to two good friends who both had babies over the holiday weekend and chat about how quickly summer is slipping away. Or maybe not, maybe we’ll just enjoy it!

2 thoughts on “sweetness

  1. Tammy says:

    I got behind on my last box and so fired up the oven and roasted almost everything. Then I froze it. I’m hoping that it will be useful to have in the next few months.

    • Ellen V says:

      What a great idea! I’m actually salivating at the thought of roasted peppers… we haven’t had any yet, but I can’t wait! I have the hardest time using up my lettuce at this time of year in Wisconsin, though. Mostly, I think we just need to eat more salads or share with our neighbors!

Leave a Reply

Categories

