planning ahead

Leave a comment

July 15, 2013 by Ellen V

We’re in a state of life right now where it’s difficult to plan ahead.

Eric is a PhD candidate, wrapping up his dissertation and teaching classes. I work for a church. Every week looks a little different for us, every weekend looks a little different for us. As Eric prepares to graduate, we don’t even know what life will look like a year from now. Not to mention two years. Or five years. It can be a bit stressful, to say the least.

Mondays are hard on our marriage, I think, because I tend to sit down at my desk, review the week ahead, and proceed to write Eric anywhere between two and twenty emails detailing things that need to be done, arrangements to be made, and changes in the “normal” schedule for the week. He hasn’t killed me for doing this to him. Yet.

This strategy isn’t really the best one, I’m guessing, but it allows me to live one week at a time without losing myself in complete anxiety about anything more than six or seven days out. We make this week the best week it can be. Next week, we’ll figure out next week.

Leave a Reply

Categories

