beat the heat

1

July 18, 2013 by Ellen V

It is brutal out there, people, and I know we’re not the only ones suffering. Actually, we’re not really suffering at all. I’m grateful for air conditioning, cold water, and a refrigerator. Really, really grateful.

Jane was sick earlier in the week (some kind of random summer cold, I guess), so we’ve been extra cautious about keeping ourselves cooled off during this heatwave. I took the opportunity to empty my cabinets, freezer, and refrigerator of pretty much every spare sweet thing I could think of to make popsicles yesterday evening!

The supplies? Frozen strawberries, leftover from our picking a few weekends ago, frozen blueberries from Costco, a little yogurt, raw honey harvested by a long time friend, and the magic ingredient (don’t you tell a soul!), spinach. Since JaniePants still won’t touch anything green, I try my darnedest to put a handful into just about anything I can think of. I made sure there was enough left over to fill a couple Little Green Pouches, too.

happy to serve popsicles for breakfast when I know what's in them! Jane took a minute to figure out how to hold them without freezing her hands off, though

happy to serve popsicles for breakfast when I know what’s in them! Jane took a minute to figure out how to hold them without freezing her hands off, though

Stay cool, everyone!

One thought on “beat the heat

  1. LK says:

    That looks delicious! You are so clever!

Leave a Reply

Categories

