wear it out

Leave a comment

July 23, 2013 by Ellen V

For the first time in my life, I can honestly say that I am wearing my clothes out before they are replaced. It is freeing, to be in a place where I a) feel confident I’m picking classic styles that I can wear for more than a year or two and b) don’t feel the compulsion to be shopping all the time. In the past few weeks, I had a pair of shorts, a pair of pants, and two shirts see their last days. These were all beaten up and worn out beyond repair, so they got stuck in the fabric scrap pile rather than the Good Will or Sister A piles.

I have been so lousy lately about using my sewing machine, so I’m not sure where the second lives for these clothes will lead me. I am hoping to make the easy-looking, no sew fabric scrap tutu for Jane’s play sometime this week, I’ve been wearing a ton of headbands lately so I know I can whip up a few more of these for both me and Jane pretty easily sometime soon, and, if I really get my act together by the end of the summer, I could see some doll clothes, play food, and a couple (dozen?) of these skirts for Jane if I really get ambitious.

Okay, let’s not get ahead of ourselves. We’ll start with the cut-and-tie tutu and see if I can get one project under my belt before I get too excitable.

I’m really excited to be repurposing some worn clothing for some really fun and useful things!

Leave a Reply

Categories

