not the sharpest crayon in the box

Leave a comment

August 23, 2013 by Ellen V

Last weekend, Eric and I made a deal.

I hate, with all my heart, doing anything more to take care of my car than fill it’s poor little gas tank. I know, it’s silly, but I feel that one of the benefits of being married is that you have another person to convince to do these things for you. Oil changes are terrible. Getting your car serviced? The worst! Getting something fixed? Can you even imagine?!

So when Eric reminded me last weekend that I needed an oil change and, better yet, the whole car should probably be in for service, I started bargaining. Surely there was something I could do for our family in exchange for his taking care of this one little task? So we made a deal.

Earlier this summer, Eric had cleaned out two of four basement window wells that had gotten grimy from years of rain and other weather. We have six wells total, but two are in great shape and don’t need clearing out. I thought, you know, I could take this on. Get us finished up. No big deal, right?

Wrong.

I guarantee that Eric knew exactly the good deal he was getting when he agreed to this exchange. I got one done this afternoon, but there’s still one left to go, and I’m already fried. They are awful beasts to clear out, and, if I ever thought I would bargain again, I would bet $20 that I haven’t done half as well as Eric had hope. I should know better than to bet Eric anything, ever.

The newly finished box. Probably not great, but better than before?

The newly finished box. Probably not great, but better than before?

The unfinished window well, for comparison. At least there is a significant difference between the two!

The unfinished window well, for comparison. At least there is a significant difference between the two!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

