today

Leave a comment

September 10, 2013 by Ellen V

I spend a lot of time planning ahead. It’s really the only way we can get through the weeks and months in our house, what with the crazy schedules and all. I make a lot of lists and do a lot of multitasking. I am used to making grocery lists during staff meetings, reading for work on my day off, taking Jane to the office “for a visit” so I can drop something off, calling a sister or a friend to catch up before an evening meeting. This is nothing new for any parent of young children, I think. You always have to make a move while in your head following it through ten steps forward. Working strange and inconsistent hours doubles the task, at least for me, and those odd hours come at me like a freight train at this time of year.

The good news? We’re in a really good place right now. I feel confident and ready for the academic year at the church where I work, and I feel excited and happy to offer the programs and opportunities I am offering. At home, we’re transitioning to a new schedule, one that will allow Eric a little more work time and give Jane more opportunities for socialization and structure that still allows her to be with the people who have been caring for her and we’ve really grown to love. Eric’s making so much progress toward the career he has dreamed about, and I am so proud of him.

So even though I am still making grocery lists during meetings, I do feel happy about, and grateful for, the moment I’m in. Every week still looks a little different than the week before, and we still don’t know what the next year will bring for us, but I am also happy for today.

And in more mundane, practical news, we have a three pound box of basil waiting to be made into pesto at home. If that’s nothing something to be grateful for, I don’t know what is!

Leave a Reply

Categories

