new shoes

Leave a comment

October 10, 2013 by Ellen V

I rarely buy new clothes anymore. Inspired by the number of amazing hand me downs and garage sale finds we’ve scored for Jane, plus some great deals for myself on eBay and consignment shopping, I have largely given up shopping for brand new clothes. It is freeing and fun to shop in a new way, and when I find something unusually great, it’s that much more satisfying.

Jane lived in one pair of $7 knock-off Crocs all summer long, but with the chillier weather she needed something other than sandals or dress shoes that covered her toes! Last weekend, I broke down and bought Jane not one, but two new pairs of shoes. And it was so. fun. I am so often excited and content with the gifts and hand me downs for Jane that I usually don’t miss the experience of picking things out for her on my own. I must admit, though, that it was a blast to have so many great options before me and to pick out some things that she and I both liked.

I’m not giving up garage sales or consignment stores, and I’m still ever so grateful for the gifts and the hand me downs. Don’t get me wrong! But it was fun to have the treat of picking out and buying something (or two somethings!) new last weekend to celebrate a great first week at daycare and the adventures we’ll have together this autumn and winter!

Leave a Reply

Categories

