bake off

Leave a comment

November 26, 2013 by Ellen V

Sister K and I had the very best weekend together. Jane fell in love with her, and she was such a huge help. For someone who insists she’s not great with kids, I was impressed and ever so grateful to have her around!

During nap time, we did what the K Sisters do best: bake.

We made bagels in the bread machine. They actually turned out pretty well, but they were labor intensive. I won’t make them again, but it was fun to try it once!

We made turtle cookies and caramel snickerdoodles. Both were heavenly, and I can’t wait to share them with the K Family over Thanksgiving weekend. A few things I’ll alter for next time, of course… The turtle cookies were actually very quick and easy. Next time I’ll just mix the pecans into the batter to skip the dipping step, but otherwise they were great! With the snickerdoodles, I’d skip the brown butter step next time and just melt it in the microwave. That recipe was a little involved and skipping that little step would save some time, energy, and dishes.

Finally, I’d say our greatest and most unexpected success was our french silk pie. Oh. my. goodness. We kind of had to talk each other into making it, as we already had done the other three, but it was so worth it! It was surprisingly easy and ridiculously delicious.

After all that baking, I’m not sure if I’m more or less ready for the food holiday of all food holidays coming in just two short days! Ready or not…

Leave a Reply

Categories

