indoor farmers market, how I miss you

Leave a comment

March 7, 2014 by Ellen V

With all the illness in our house, it’s been a long while since I hit up the Milwaukee County Winter Farmers’ Market, so I’m really, really hoping to get there this weekend. I went once or twice last winter for the first time, and it felt like such a treasure. Fresh produce, meat, dairy, and more in such a sullen time. This year the venue is changed to an even more convenient and altogether wonderful location and it seems like the destination of every hipster, foodie, and parent-with-toddler in the metro area.

As a part of my new year’s resolutions, and just because it is generally awesome, we’ve been trying to make it there once every few weeks. I’m salivating just thinking about what might get added to the list this week. Our favorite finds?

  • Root vegetables like carrots, onions, potatoes, that folks carefully store for us and still seem freshly picked. They are great additions for our favorite winter meals like chicken pot pie, or maybe shepherds pie this week!
  • Ground beef and Italian sausage which we have been using for chili, spaghetti, biscuits and gravy, and tacos. I never in a million years thought I’d love biscuits and gravy the way I’ve grown to love biscuits and gravy this long, cold winter.
  • Cheese of pretty much any variety, though of course squeaky Wisconsin cheese curds are the best ever.
  • Treats like baklava, cookies, homemade bread.

We work the added expense of the organic, well-prepared or -grown foods into our budget by setting aside a little from this or that. It always seems worth it and, because it doesn’t usually come from the weekly grocery budget, it sometimes frees up our grocery spending. I really, really hope we can make it to the market this weekend! I’m so desperate for the warmth of the Domes and some good food in my life!

Leave a Reply

Categories

