dinner fail

2

April 3, 2014 by Ellen V

It’s mid-Lent and quiet on the blog front. I’m sure life will settle down soon, right?

I feel that I should record my latest cooking disaster, as with all the quiet you might think everything is just humming along perfectly at the V House, right?

Wrong.

Monday night I made tortilla soup from a very standard, typically easy-to-use cookbook. I hadn’t made this particular recipe before, but at a glance it looked like one of the easiest things ever! And I need easy lately.

So all was going quite well, until I got to the last ingredient: “1/4 c. crushed red chilis.”

Hmmm…

My gut told me that surely this was some form of chili powder, but that 1/4 cup of chili powder was excessive. I was going to substitute 2 tablespoons and go from there. But, since I have the power of Google in my pocket, I thought I had better check first. And do you know what the internets said crushed red chilis were?

Cayenne.

Being prudent, of course, I knew 1/4 cup cayenne was insane. So I just went for a tablespoon of chilli powder and a tablespoon cayenne, and then I figured I’d adjust.

Lesson: ONE TABLESPOON OF CAYENNE IS ALWAYS TOO MUCH

Please learn from my foolishness.

Also, I still have no idea what crushed red chilis are.

2 thoughts on “dinner fail

  1. Amy says:

    Did they not mean red chili flakes? 1/4 c would still be way too much, in my opinion…

Leave a Reply

Categories

