calm before the storm

Leave a comment

April 9, 2014 by Ellen V

Next week is the crazy that is Holy Week in my life, and I’ve been working in my position long enough to see it coming. It will start on Sunday–Palm Sunday–and will be non-stop until Easter.

I have a unique set of challenges this year–an especially large group of folks joining our church this Easter, some weird allergy/sinus/general weirdness going on with Jane lately (especially at night… yuck), and exhaustion on my end from dealing with the other stuff. The positive this year is that I’m not anxious or nervous. I know the services will take care of themselves, and I know that my group is ready for their part. I know what things will need to happen ahead of time and what things are already done, or can wait until after Easter.

The toughest thing, of course, is trying to master the around-the-house care. Work leaves me wiped out, and, when I’m at home, Jane takes up most of my attention. By the time she goes to bed, I crash.

Last night, though, I took a little time. Not a lot, not enough really, just a little time to put away a few things, clutter that was taking over our kitchen, dining room, and living room and making it hard to sort the good from the bad. Then, this morning, we were able to spare 10 minutes between the two of us to vacuum, which was long overdue. Eric and Jane even washed the big picture window in our living room while I did it! It’s amazing how 10 minutes here and 10 minutes there can suddenly make you feel like you’re in control of your life again!

I’ve said no a few times this week and for the weekend, knowing I need to keep my head above water before the storm that is coming on Sunday. I hope, as I always do, that the work I do during Holy Week allows others to do the thing that I can’t always–to find time to participate in a unique season, a special time in the year, that is so counter-cultural that it has the ability to work true wonders in your life.

Leave a Reply

Categories

