thirty years

1

May 13, 2014 by Ellen V

I am thirty years old today.

I won’t pretend I’m loving it. I’m exhausted from storms and worries that have kept me up the last few nights. Eric’s out of town, and he’s always my first choice to celebrate (or distract me from) any occasion. My coworkers decorated and threw this over-the-top party which was pretty much the last thing I wanted today.

But I do appreciate how much they care. And if you can’t spend your birthday with your best friend, you may as well spend it with this:

photo(26)

Jane and I are going to eat somewhere kid friendly and cheap for dinner, and she’ll be a good date. Or a good enough date, as she won’t complain when we’re home by 6:30. I’m looking forward to doing laundry (truly, the only chore I actually like doing) and watching TV and an early bedtime.

And although this really isn’t the best holiday ever, it’s going to be a great year. I get to watch Eric earn his PhD next weekend, and continue to make just awesome strides in his challenging career path. I’ll get to meet my second baby. I’ll get to watch my little brother marry the love of his life, whose been nothing but good for him and to him. And there will be more treasures and adventures than I can even dream of now, I’m sure.

I feel grateful more than anything else today. Grateful to wonderful parents who brought me into the world on a Mother’s Day 30 years ago, grateful to family and friends who make life worth celebrating every day, and grateful to a husband and a child who love me to bits to matter how old or young I am or I feel.

One thought on “thirty years

  1. LK says:

    Happy, happy birthday, Ellen! It’s been a joy to have you in our lives this 30 years. Can’t wait to see what the next year and the next 30 years bring.

Leave a Reply

Categories

