potty time

2

June 5, 2014 by Ellen V

We are into potty training hardcore at our house right now. We’re having success 4-8 times a day, and it’s so fun to watch this little light bulb switch on for my toddler!

Unlike most of my peers, a “3 days and done” method just wasn’t going to do the trick for us. Although I think Jane would have been receptive to it, neither Eric nor I have the time to put aside several days in a row for an endeavor like this. Plus, Jane regularly goes into a new environment (daycare) two days a week, where the scenario is much different than at home.

Instead, we give her small rewards (3 m&ms or a popsicle, usually) as incentives for success, have her wearing pull ups (except for nap or bed or long outings that scare us), and cheer her on constantly. She spends most of her days dry, and she’s starting to ask to go herself (already! after only about 2 weeks!).

enjoying a popsicle reward A memory worth recording: When Jane has any potty action, she always calls it a poop--it's just a yellow or a brown one! I often hear from the other room, "Mama, I did it! I pooped the yellow part!"

enjoying a popsicle reward
A memory worth recording: When Jane has any potty action, she always calls it a poop–it’s just a yellow or a brown one! I often hear from the other room, “Mama, I did it! I pooped the yellow part!”

Honestly, she’s been ready for this for a long time. We’ve been hesitant to invest ourselves into this challenge. But I’m so glad we took the plunge, even if we’re not doing it perfectly. She’s enjoying this process, proud of herself every. single. time. “I did it! I went on the potty!” It’s so fun to watch her learn and grow. And skills like putting on and taking off her own clothes are coming right along with it.

Especially fun this week is watching her take pride in “showing her friends” at daycare what she’s accomplishing. She loves being a leader in her room, and the others are becoming interested, too, because she’s so infectiously excited.

With the ups and downs coming with this move… and then a baby… I know there will be regressions. But I truly think this is going to be an easy transition for us. I’m so happy for my big girl!

2 thoughts on “potty time

  1. Sasha says:

    Yeah, who knew bodily fluids could be such an exciting conversation piece! 🙂 Beware though, the public restrooms can be such you will wish she was still in diapers!! My daughter for some reason is obsessed with trying out every single one, even if she doesn’t really have to go. It’s some weird type obsession! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

