labor day

Leave a comment

September 1, 2014 by Ellen V

No, thank goodness, I’m not in labor. Let this little girl keep cooking, please. We need a few more weeks! I’m 32 weeks as of yesterday, so we should have some time left, God willing.

Labor Day this year means Eric’s first day of teaching as a full-time professor! He just has one class today and three more tomorrow–a total of four sections this semester. I’m so hoping he loves it!

Eric's first day of school!

Eric’s first day of school!

In the meantime, Jane and I are learning about farms this week. We might be even getting to know enough people around here to invite ourselves to a real farm if we have time! Or maybe we’ll just plant some lettuce and sing Old MacDonald and read Thump, Quack, Moo. Whatever.

I feel like I’m finally getting into a rhythm here–doing some regular cleaning, getting a decent dinner on the table most evenings, giving into less TV time, getting Jane out of pull-ups and sippy cup mode, and making it my job to keep things in order around here. I figure I’ve got somewhere between 6 and 10 weeks left of having only one child to fret about, so I need to take advantage.

I’ve been majorly influenced by Simplicity Parenting this summer, and I’m really trying to implement it’s ideals in easy ways. My favorite thing has been Sunday night movie and popcorn as a family. We’re not used to seeing quite as much of each other as we all have been the last few weeks, so I think it’s nice to have something on the schedule to look forward to each week. And I feel less guilty about it now that I’m not plopping Jane down on the couch every few minutes!

In other news… the AC has been super up and down, but we have had consistent cool air for almost 48 hours, so I’m thrilled. Though I’ve probably jinxed it now. And just in the nick of time–Virginia is hot, people.

Leave a Reply

Categories

