missing out

Leave a comment

September 28, 2014 by Ellen V

Do you know what’s absolutely terrible?

Missing your little brother’s wedding. Missing your daughter as his flower girl. Missing so many family and friends celebrating the good things in life all together, on a beautiful September day in Minnesota.

Do you know what’s absolutely wonderful?

Having a husband willing to spend two full days of travel to make sure you’re represented at said wedding. Having updates all day by family members who make sure you know you’re missed. Having extended family travel four hours to spend the evening with you, knowing how sad you are not to be present. Knowing two people who love each other very much celebrated a union to bring more love into the world.

I feel so sad to have missed such a special day–for my brother, my parents, my daughter– but so happy to have felt all the love any way. I can’t wait to see more pictures and hear more stories. I’m so proud of Jane and her behavior, I think she and Eric represented me well!

And my house has been clean for 36 hours. So that’s something.

Leave a Reply

Categories

