streamlining my closet

1

January 11, 2015 by Ellen V

I keep seeing, from all corners of the interwebs, folks proclaiming the great benefits of streamlining their clothing options. The basic idea is that great thinkers (Steve Jobs, Mark Zuckerberg, Barack Obama) wear the same basic ensemble every day. A person saves time and brain power by eliminating options.

The idea of downsizing my clothing options resonated with me immediately. The last few months of my pregnancy, I was wearing the same 3-4 outfits every day. I had one or two dresses I could wear to church or in public, and a few slouchy things that covered my belly at home. Because I was hardly ever out and about, I couldn’t justify purchasing maternity clothing, and all the things from my previous pregnancy were the wrong season (winter in Wisconsin vs. early fall in Virginia) or the wrong lifestyle (work vs. home). Then, over the holidays, I lived out of a suitcase for 15 days.

Neither of these experiences were limiting. In fact, they were freeing. I didn’t stress about what to wear, clothing wasn’t an extension of the person I wanted to be. Clothing was purely practical, and I spent time and energy elsewhere.

So I’m starting a new job tomorrow as a theology teacher at a local private high school, and my closet has been transforming over the past few weeks to match this idea. Flats, pants, belt, t shirt, cardigan/jacket, earrings. My make up routine is already pathetic (BB Cream, the same shade of eyeshadow, mascara). I can easily do this five days a week, with a little freedom for jeans or my favorite dress/leggings combo on Saturdays and Sundays. And if it makes getting ready and out the door with two little ones doable? Let’s go.

One thought on “streamlining my closet

  1. Amy says:

    Amen!! I need to think about my closet this way too. I remember that about my pregnancy- limited options made it so much easier.

Leave a Reply

Categories

