one awesome thing about being Catholic in the South

Leave a comment

January 23, 2015 by Ellen V

I’ve started a post about seven times in the past three days, only to be interrupted by a request for “chocolatey chocolate milk” or a cry for a pacifier or the realization that dishes or laundry need to be done or the thought of my lecture notes for tomorrow looming. I’ve started it and stopped it so many times that I’m not sure what I want to say anymore. I want to say all the things.

I feel like I’m learning to be a working mother again for the first time. Teaching is a new gig for me, which is challenging on its own, and then I have two little girls begging for my attention, not just the one. And Eric has his own stuff, too, in a different, more scheduled way than ever before. But at the same time, I feel like this was the right move. I’m so sure of it, actually. I’m not the world’s best high school theology teacher or anything, but I really like it, and I feel more energized than I have since we moved.

So I’m learning how to rearrange our lives a little to make sense of it all. Like going to Mass on Saturday night so I can grocery shop on Sunday mornings when Kroger is totally quiet and sleepy and all the produce is fresh. And needing to remember to clean a bathroom or throw a load of laundry in when I have a spare second. And stressing out less about exercise (have you met me? ugh!) because I’m in a different season of life at the moment… one that requires a little less “me” and a little more “them.” And planning meals that can be made in twenty minutes or less. I think I should write a cookbook.

IMG_0779IMG_0777

So anyway, I love them and there are so many good things and we’re all mostly great. Happy Friday to all and to all a good night!

Leave a Reply

Categories

