thirteen again? (never!)

Leave a comment

February 5, 2015 by Ellen V

Working with 8th and 9th graders is really… something.

I’ve often said that my undergrad was the hardest on me socially/emotionally, but that, unlike many of my peers, I’d relive high school in a heartbeat. I had great friends, I was active, I was too busy to care much about the haters, and I had some phenomenal experiences. College was rougher for me, but in high school I thought I had it all figured out.

But every day I hang out with 13-15 year olds, and I’m reminded. Ugh, what torture! These are good kids with bright futures, but I still don’t want to be them. It’s okay to be grateful I’m 30, right?

In all seriousness, my new job is going well. I need to find some ways to be more productive in the car, but if my commute is the worst part, I’m doing pretty well. We love both our care providers for Sidney and for Jane, and I feel like I’m doing work that is good and needed and challenging. And I’m grateful.

Leave a Reply

Categories

