hit the road, jack

1

June 12, 2015 by Ellen V

We’re gearing up for our big road trip, leaving bright and early tomorrow. Although, with our AC out, I wouldn’t mind just jumping on the road now… If only I didn’t have those trouble maker kids, who seem to prefer sleeping in their own beds, to deal with…

It’s been a hustle and bustle the last few days to prepare for this lengthy departure. We have a few folks checking in on the place while we’re gone, and a middle schooler from our church lined up to mow. I just brought in the last load of laundry from the line. We have cash for tolls and vending machines. I keep throwing this and that in bags, not sure I can live for a month without it. I know I won’t sleep well tonight, but, luckily, Eric can will himself to sleep in almost any setting, so I can nap with the girls if necessary.

Since our last big road trip to the midwest, I’ve learned a few things. One of the biggest helps this time is that we’ll be staying with friends instead of in hotels, a huge upgrade. The fact that we aren’t facing every. single. meal. on the road is just awesome. I did the ol’ outfits in plastic baggies for the girls this time in hopes that costume changes are swift if necessary. I have hoarded lots of food for Sidney, portioned into containers for each day. We’ll also have loads of snacks for Eric, Jane, and me so we aren’t too dependent on gas station gummy bears. Or at least not until Monday. The fridge is just about cleared out of anything that could go bad. I’m counting on Eric to miraculously fit everything into the van. Even with the extra cargo room, it’s going to be a squeeze.

It’s crazy to think that we’re leaving on the day Sidney turns 8 months old and, when we return, she’ll be almost 9 months. She’s just starting to pull up now, we’ll probably have a cruiser on our hands when we get back in Virginia. I’m praying for no major growth spurts–I refuse to pack a whole extra set of sized up clothes! What will she need in 3 weeks that I’m not thinking of?

It’s a fun adventure, and I can’t wait to get started. If you’re the praying sort, do lend your prayers to us for smooth and safe travels and a few hours of shut eye on the overnights. Check ya in Minnesota!

One thought on “hit the road, jack

  1. Amy says:

    Hooray hooray hooray see you TOMORROW!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

