back in the blue ridge

Leave a comment

July 8, 2015 by Ellen V

We rolled in to our little place in VA a little after 5:00 this evening. Day #26. What a crazy adventure.

It’s hard not to feel a zillion different emotions as I drink a home-brew and reflect on the last month. About 11 months ago, we made that trip to Virginia by car for the first time. I cried most of the way (and much of the week that followed).

This time, I have a preschooler, not a toddler, who grew an inch during our trip, who did not have a single accident nor wet the bed even once, who transitioned from place to place with flexibility and excitement, who tried new foods and made new friends. This time I have a eight (almost nine) month old who crawls, pulls up, is into everything, eats finger foods, and loves to play with new sounds.

And this time, I know what I’m coming home to.

I’ve been on the verge of a good cry all afternoon. It’s hard to leave behind the people we love and the spaces that are so familiar to come back to a place that still feels so new and, often, lonely. Even harder (or, at least, more a present reality) is the daunting new schedule of being home alone with these two bugs most days for the next month, and then knowing a transition into the next school year is headed my way after that.

On the other hand, I’m so excited for our next chapter, which in many ways starts today. I don’t have a newborn anymore, I have a mobile little girl who is ready to take it all in, and my big girl is ready for a whole new set of experiences, too. Eric has some really awesome opportunities coming this summer and fall, and he’s truly earned them. The house I walked into today felt like home, at least kind of.

And I get to choose what’s for dinner again.

Leave a Reply

Categories

