jumping on board the capsule wardrobe train

Leave a comment

March 14, 2016 by Ellen V

I love to shop. It’s so fun to go into a store (or a bunch of stores) with a budget and the thrill of the chase.

In the past few years, I’ve tried to cleanse myself of my shopping impulses, though. We have so much stuff. All of us. So. much. stuff. And I was finding that I was experiencing that old, ugly Buyers’ Remorse more and more often. So, more or less, I cut myself off. Other than the monthly Target trip I allowed myself, no more aimless wandering. And this was all lucky, since I didn’t really have any money to spend. So there ya go.

In the past few months, though, I have found myself with the itch to shop again. This itch isn’t bad, new clothes aren’t bad, but the aimless shopping? A little bad. I have found myself with a few new things I don’t really need and a sense that something needs to change.

Enter the Capsule Wardrobe.

Have you heard about this? This is a great explanation/example–must better than what I could put together for you. Basically, you cull your wardrobe for a season to a small set of interchangeable pieces. But really? You make your own rules. There aren’t set numbers or items or a set length of time. I think there are suggestions out there, but I think those things miss the point. Truly, a capsule wardrobe is about limiting your closet to clothes you love and that go together and being satisfied with less. 

I plan to try this as a year-long experiment, but I’m not sure whether it will last that long. Or maybe it’ll last a lot longer! I used this website to play with color combinations, and I came up with something for each season for the next year. I found what I loved for spring, put most everything else in easy-to-access boxes (just in case this is a terrible idea), and I’ll start officially next week when spring has truly begun.

For me, it’s easy to see the benefits–I’ll still be able to buy, but I’ll be confined to limited needs within a color palate and season. No more aimless wandering, and wondering how the too-expensive skirt will get worn, seeing as it only goes with one top. I highly doubt my students will notice or care. I am absolutely certain I will make some mistakes. But I’m looking forward to the freedom that comes from limited decision making in the morning. And a new adventure!

Leave a Reply

Categories

